Damn you, Father Time!

As you may have guessed both by the title of this post and the picture above, I recently had a birthday.  Another year older.  Oh joy.  There are days when getting older makes me feel like this:

 

And there are days when getting older feels like this:

 

 

But mostly, I’m just happy.  Happy I made it another year.  Happy because I have amazing friends and family.  Happy because I have an awesome son who is about to turn 13.  (Seriously??  I almost have a teenager?? Again, not cool, Father Time.  Not cool.)  Happy because truly, I have a blessed life.

Yeah, yeah.  Whatever.  All that aside, I do love to kick ‘ol Father Time in the teeth sometimes so I employ these 5 tips to turn back, even if only a little, the hands of time:


TIP #1:  Exercise.  Yep.  I said it and you all know it’s true.  Exercising is just amazing for a plethora of reasons.  Plethora.  Seriously.  But this article came out in the NY Times last week and it states, “Exercise not only appears to keep skin younger, it may also even reverse skin aging in people who start exercising late in life”.  I mean, is that, like, one of the best sentences EVER??  I think so.  So get to it, people!

TIP #2:  Drink water.  I’m all about easy, and drinking water is one of the quickest, most effective things you can do to boost your health, skin, brain function, the list goes on.  And because I like to back my position up – read this if you don’t believe me.

TIP #3:  Eat your vegetables.  A lot.  As many as you can each and every day.  Preferably the green leafy variety, but really, I’m not picky.  Just eat them.  I don’t think I need to say more as the current kale-in-everything-we-eat mania has proven this point!

TIP #4:  Breathe.  Deep, cleansing breaths using your diaphragm, not your lungs.  Stress is a killer and is associated with diseases such as heart disease, stroke, cancer, diabetes, the list continues and those are biggies.  Dr. Andrew Weil has a breathing exercise called 4-7-8 Breath that I assign to all of my clients.  Try it.  It’s easy and it’s effective.  See – all about easy over here!

TIP #5:  Laugh every day.  Because this is your life.  So laugh and laugh often.  That’s the point of it all, in my opinion.  Experience joy each and every day.


Get it?  Good.  Moving on to granola.  Why granola, you ask?

Because I love it.  Love, love, love it.  And making homemade granola is easy and you will NEVER buy it from the store again once you taste this recipe.  I promise!

 

 

I slightly adapted this recipe from a cookbook entitled, Whole Grain Mornings.  In it, you are given a blueprint for granola and encouraged to experiment.  Which I do every time I make it, but I am giving you what I think is the best combination I’ve come up with yet!

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups organic rolled oats
  • 1 cup raw, organic almonds
  • 1 cups raw, organic cashews
  • 1/2 cup raw, organic pumpkin seeds
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt (and I swear, this is key!)
  • 3/4 teaspoon cinnamon (because I LOVE cinnamon)
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cardamom
  • 1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup (grade B, please!)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup mixture of chopped dried cherries and cranberries
  •  
    Directions:

    1. Preheat the oven to 350 F.  Line a 13 by 18-inch baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicone mat.
    2. Mix the oats, nuts and seeds, salt, cinnamon, and cardamom together in a large bowl.  Stir to combine.  Add the oil, sweetener, and vanilla and stir again to combine fully
    3. Turn the granola out onto the prepared pan and spread in an even layer.  Bake until the mixture is light brown and fragrant, 35 to 40 minutes, stirring every 15 or 20 minutes to make sure the granola cooks evenly.
    4. Remove from the oven and let cool completely on the pan.  Stir in the dried fruit.  Store in an airtight container at room temperature for 3 to 4 weeks, but I promise, it won’t last that long!

    Try it and let me know what you think in the comments below.  Or post your favorite granola recipe and I will try yours out.  Like I said, love me some granola!

    If you liked this post, forward it to a friend, post it on your Facebook feed or tweet about it.  I’d appreciate it!

    Be well.
2 thoughts on “Damn you, Father Time!

  1. Nicole, I didn’t know you were an Aries too! 🙂 I just started a new decade…you can figure out which one…yikes! Happy belated birthday!

  2. Thanks for reminding me Nicole and Dr. Weil, My yoga class disappeared from my life and it was the entirety of my practice of this kind of breathing. I like his prescription, you don’t need a guide, or much time at all. It’s life-altering for sure. Interesting that he uses the same example as my yoga instructor, she says if you do this you’ll immediately let go of the driving stress we all feel from time to time. Appreciate the wisdom and the reminder!

Leave a Reply

