Knowing is not being.

On March 1st and 2nd I was in New York City and – sorry, pause for a moment – I have a picture I must share with you.  This is taken in Central Park when it was approximately 21 degrees outside.  And the dude DOES NOT HAVE HIS SHIRT ON!!  I couldn’t believe it so I rushed to grab my camera because I felt documentation was required.  Grabbing said camera, in case you were wondering, was not the simplest task since I was wearing six layers of clothing including gloves. (What can I say?  I’m a California girl!)

Sorry.  I just had to share.  

Anyways, I was in New York City to attend the Institute of Integrative Nutrition’s live conference. And it was amazing.  We had speakers like Deepak Chopra, Arianna Huffington, Harville Hendrix, and Christiane Northrup. Harville Hendrix is the person responsible for my email subject line and it is his quote that has stuck with me out of everything I heard:

         Knowing is not Being.  Doing is Being.  Being is Being.

Brilliant.

Whether it’s success as a parent, a spouse, or an entrepreneur, we humans spend a lot of time worrying whether we know what we need to know to be successful in life.  And you can definitely get sucked into the mind trap of, “I can’t do it.  I don’t know enough!  I need to read one more book, or take one more class, or attend one more seminar.” Stop.  Just stop.  Because guess what?  You, me, all of us, will NEVER know enough.  Never.  So just start doing.  Start being.  The knowing catches up – promise.

Looking for a new recipe to expand your repertoire?  I made this last week and not only was it really easy, it was really good.  It comes from the magazine I cook the most out of, Clean Eating.  I highly recommend it.

Chinese Chicken Salad

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1lb Brussel sprouts, damaged outer leaves discarded, ends trimmed and shredded using a food processor
  • 12 oz shredded or chopped cooked chicken breast
  • 6 to 8 radishes, trimmed and thinly slices
  • 6 scallions, thinly slices
  • 4 clementines or tangerines, peeled and sectioned
  • 1/4 cup toasted sliced unsalted almonds
  • 3 tbsp rice vinegar
  • 2 tbsp reduced-sodium tamari
  • 1 1/2 tbsp raw honey
  • 1 tbsp safflower oil
  • 1 1/2 txp toasted sesame oil
  • 1 tbsp finely chopped fresh ginger

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. To a large bowl, add Bruseels sprouts, chicken, radishes, scallions, clementines and almonds.  Toss to combine,
  2. In a small bowl, whisk together vinegar, tamari, honey, safflower oil and sesame oil until combined.  Whisk in ginger.  Pour over salad and toss well.

Makes 4 servings.

Be well.

Leave a Reply

